Saturday, 13 April 2013


There are currently (2013) 27 member countries:

  • In 1957 Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands and Luxembourg were the 6 founder members of the European Economic Community, now known as the European Union. 
  • In 1973 Ireland, the United Kingdom and Denmark joined, bringing the total to 9. 
  • In 1981 Greece became the 10th country. 
  • In 1986 Portugal and Spain brought the total to 12.
  • In 1995 Austria, Finland and Sweden became members.
  • These 15 countries were joined by 10 others in 2004:
Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania,  Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

  • On 1st January, 2007 Bulgaria and Romania  were the latest  additions.

On 1st July, 2013 Croatia is scheduled to become the 28th member of the European Union.

labelled map of Europe showing progressive EU enlargements 

The member states of the European Union, animated in order of accession. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Deja tus comentarios aquí:)